All Pat Cummins and KKR records raked in their stunning back guard

Statistics Analysis

Also in the record books tonight: Chahar for high, and Curran for low

171 – Runs scored by the Kolkata Knights after the fifth wicket fell with the score at 31, the most by a team in an IPL match after losing five wickets. Royal Challengers Bangalore held the previous record with 130 runs in 2016 against the Gujarat Lions, when they chased 159 after being 29 for 5.

The 171 runs by the Knight Riders are also the second highest of any team in a T20 match after the fall of the fifth wicket. The highest is 184 by the Jamaica Tallawahs to chase a target of 224 being 41 for 5 against the Trinbago Knight Riders in the 2018 CPL (courtesy of 121 * off 49 balls by one Andre Russell).

66 * – Pat Cummins score at batting at No. 8 for the Knights Knights, the highest in IPL at batting at No. 8 or lower. 64 Harbhajan Singh against the Kings XI Punjab in 2015, also from No. 8, was the previous highest of such a batting position.

0 – All-out totals exceeded 202 by the Knights Knights. The previous highest total in the IPL was 188 by Mumbai Indians back in 2008, in pursuit of a target run by 190 against King XI Punjab.

The Knight Riders are also the only team in T20 history to register a total of 200 plus after losing half of their side inside 50 runs. The Jamaica Tallawahs, against the Trinbago Knight Riders in the 2018 CPL, recorded the first such case.

202 – The Knights total is the highest of any team in T20 cricket with eight batters going out in single digits. The previous highest with as many or more single-digit scores was 175 by Australia against Pakistan in the World T20 2014. The Riders total is also the first 200-plus total in T20s to include four ducks.

4 – Wicks to Deepak Chahar inside the first six overs of this match. He is the first player to capture a four-wicket game for the Chennai Super Kings in the IPL during the mandatory powerplay. The Super Kings kicked five wickets inside the first six overs, the first such case for them in the IPL.