India vs Australia: Shane Warne chooses his Australian XI player for first Test against India in Adelaide – cricket

Who are the openers? Who should hit number 6? Will it be a sewing attack? These are enough to keep the leadership of the Indian and Australian teams on their toes. The first test match of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, which will be the historic pink ball test, is only four days away and it will not be an exaggeration to say that neither India nor Australia are absolutely certain that they will play XI on Thursday.

However, the work of Tim Paine and the direction of the Australian team was made a little easier thanks to the legendary Shane Warne, who chose his Australia XI for the first test starting on December 17 in Adelaide.

Also read: Kuldeep Yadav says criticism of India’s 2018 win at Down Under ‘has no merit’

Warne chose Matthew Wade and Marcus Harris as the starting partner for the first Test against India on Sunday in the absence of regular starter David Warner and Will Pucovski.

Cricket Australia added Harris to the test team on Saturday following confirmation that Warner and Pucovski were not available to be selected for the Adelaide test.

Warner injured his adductor muscle on the field during the second ODI against India at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG), while Pucovski suffered a concussion while batting for Australia A in the tour game against India at Drummoyne Oval last week. . Both hitters will now target a comeback before the Boxing Day Test. Surprisingly, Warne’s first Test XI did not feature mediocre hitter Joe Burns, who was seen as one of the longest-format game’s starters.

On Twitter, Warne wrote: “My test team for Adelaide now that Burns looks horribly out of shape and Warner and young Pucovski’s injuries. Cross our fingers. Green will be fine. “

The veteran leg shooter also named Shaun Marsh as a replacement for Cameron Green, who suffered a blow to the head during the ongoing practice game against India. Pat Rowe replaced him on the first day of the game.

In the middle order, race favorites Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith find a place along with Travis Head and skipper Tim Paine. While the bowling department will be led by experienced pacemaker Mitchell Starc supported by the duo of Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood.

Also read: Ojha backs Indian bowler to be a ‘game changer’ in Adelaide pink ball test

Nathan Lyon is the only player to have found a place in Warner’s XI for the historic first day and night test match between Australia and India.

Warne’s Australia XI: Matthew Wade, Marcus Harris, Marnus Labuschagne, Steve Smith, Travis Head, Cameron Green, Tim Paine (c), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood, Shaun Marsh (on hold if Green is out) .

(With ANI inputs)