KL Rahul breaks Virat Kohli’s record to become the fastest Indian to 5,000 T20 runs

Punjab Kings (PBKS) skipper KL Rahul broke Virat Kohli’s record to become the fastest Indian batsman to 5,000 T20 runs. Rahul took 143 innings to reach the milestone while Kohli took 167 innings. Rahul needed only one run to reach the milestone before the match. The 29-year-old player could only manage four runs from six deliveries before losing his wicket to Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) opening bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar.

Rahul has 2,808 IPL runs from 76 pubs so far including two centuries and 23 half centuries. Kohli is currently the leading run scorer in IPL with 5,949 runs to his name from 187 innings.

In the ongoing IPL season, Rahul has scored 161 runs from four flyovers including two half centuries. Quickfire scored 91 in the first match against Rajasthan Royals (RR). However, PBKS has lost three of their four games in the season so far.

“We knew what to expect here. Tried to get used to the conditions as soon as we could. We were 10-15 short of this pitch. Bowlers tried very hard, but it is very difficult to come to these conditions and adapt quickly. Looking back is a wonderful thing. We knew they were going to come hard. It is difficult to get attacking fields. Waiting for one of them to get out and then put on weight. Want to take the game as deeply as possible. Unfortunately we couldn’t get wickets in the middle and that cost us. Every game is important to us and we’ve been in that position. It’s not a bad situation to be in. Hopefully, learn from our mistakes and keep improving, ”said Rahul after the fight.

SRH beat PBKS at Chidambaram MA Stadium, Chennai by nine wickets with eight balls to spare. Earlier, Rahul won the toss and elected to bat first. PBKS batsmen failed to stitch a big partnership but continued to lose wickets on a regular basis and posted a modest total of 120. Khaleel Ahmed grabbed three wickets and Abhishek Sharma collected two wickets. Bhuvneshwar, Siddharth Kaul and Rashid Khan each picked up one wicket. SRH opener Jonny Bairstow led the run hunt as he remained unbeaten for 63.