PBKS vs SRH, Indian Premier League: SunRisers Hyderabad Cruise To Win 1st Of The Season After Punjab Kings Batting Fall

Fast bowler Khaleel Ahmed led an impressive bowling effort before Jonny Bairstow smashed an unbeaten fifty as Sunrisers Hyderabad snapped their three-game losing streak with a convincing nine-wicket victory over Punjab Kings in an IPL match, on Wednesday. When first asked to bow, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s fast-spin duo of Khaleel (3/21) and Abhishek Sharma (2/24) made bulk of the damage to bundle Punjab Kings for a sub-par 120 in 19.4 overs. Speed ​​controller Bhuvneshwar Kumar (1/16), Afghanistan star spinner Rashid Khan (1/17) and Siddarth Kaul (1/27) each won wickets as Punjab had never gained momentum.

Going after the total, SRH openers Jonny Bairstow (63) and David Warner (37) pumped Punjab into submission, adding 73 runs off 60 balls to lay the foundation. Bairstow and Kane Williamson (16) then beat the remaining runs as SRH raced home with 8 balls to spare.

Bairstow and Warner broke five boundaries and two sixes during their 50 run stand in the powerplay, while Punjab managed a top nine fours and two in their entire innings.

Warner picked up the first boundary when Mohammed Shami sent across a point in the outside half’s third ball. Bairstow then welcomed Fabian Allen with four and six in the next match. Shami then sent a low full throw across the middle of the wicket by Bairstow before Warner hit the Indian through the point back.

Bairstow also pulled Moises Henriques over his long leg, while Warner swung Arshdeep Singh over the square leg back. Warner sent Deepak Hooda sailing over an extra cover for six but in the next over he nailed Mayank off Allen, who bowled a wicket maid, as SRH was 73 for 1.

Bairstow found a capable ally in Williamson, who was playing his first game of the season, as they added an unbeaten 48 runs to help SRH log their first win of the season.

Earlier, Shahrukh Khan (22) and Mayank Agarwal (22) were the top scorers for Punjab Kings, who entered the match after two losses. In a tavern clearing the boundary as if it was a catch task, Khan managed two sixes, while Agarwal, who was dropped at 0 in Rashid’s first inning, hit two fours.

Choosing to bat in their first game at Chidambaram MA Stadium, Punjab lost their wicketkeeper in the form of KL Rahul (4) early. Agarwal and Chris Galye (15) stitched a 24 run partnership. However, at the end of the seventh over, Khaleel got rid of the Indian with Rashid making no mistakes this time in midwicket.

West India’s Nicholas Pooran (0) was out for a diamond duck as Sunrisers captain David Warner ran out in the eighth over. Gayle followed his compatriot in the next over as he was ruled in his front leg.

Punjab were scrambling for 53 for 4 at the halfway mark as wickets continued to move regularly. Deepak Hooda (13) and Moises Henriques (14) all started from Australia but were unable to capitalize.


Fabian Allen (6), the all-rounder, also struggled on his first appearance. Local star Khan tried to inject some hope into a Punjab camp but a slower ball from Khaleel ended his gameo.

Murugan Ashwin (9) hit a boundary but Kaul accounted for the spinner in the latter followed by Shami’s dismissal (3), which was run out.

Topics mentioned in this article